Quilting Ideas for Nature’s Jewels

By now, I know some of you have finished your quilt and are eagerly awaiting ideas for how to quilt your masteriece!  I know this because a bunch of you have contacted me and I’m determined to get this on my website this weekend.  So, in my desire to just get this done, I’ve decided that no great philosophical text is needed about why I designed the elements the way I did.  You just need photos so here they are! 

If you click on the photo you can see a close-up.  I apologize for the poor quality – I couldn’t figure out how to get a good close-up without the haze.  Someday I’ll take a photography class (in my free time!).

I drew ideas for my quilter, Carrie Peterson, and she refined them to suit her quilting style.  I provided her with a few dozen spools of thread, mostly King Tut variegated quilting thread, and she changed threads (top and bottom) for each fabric she was quilting.  I can only imagine what a laborious task that was, but you can see the results for yourselves – spectacular!!!

Part 1

Part 1

Part 3

Part 3

Part 3 Back

Part 3 Back

Part 4

Part 4

Part 5 Back

Part 5 Back

Part 6

Part 6

Part 6 Back

Part 6 Back

Part 7

Part 7

Part 8

Part 8

Part 9

Part 9

Part 11

Part 11

Part 11

Part 11

Part 12

Part 12

Nature's Jewels Back

Nature’s Jewels Back

About laurieshifrin

I am a quilt designer, author, quilting teacher and lecturer.
This entry was posted in Laurie's Quilt Designs, Nature's Jewels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilting Ideas for Nature’s Jewels

  1. Susan Tallis says:

    Beautiful quilt & the colors are wonderful. I’m trying to imagine it larger. It must be stunning.

    • Thanks, Susan. I just finished the quilting and binding in time for it to hang at the Northwest Quilting Expo next week, so I’m pretty happy that I’ll get to share it with everyone then.

Leave a comment