International Quilt Market – Houston

No – I’m not going to be in Houston this year, but I will be well represented by my quilts!  For those of you who don’t know, International Quilt Market is a wholesale show which happens twice a year – every Fall it’s in Houston, and in Spring it rotates through 4 or 5 cities -Salt Lake City, Minneapolis, Portland (OR), Pittsburgh, and occasionally others.  At this show, manufacturers of fabrics, pattern designers, notions and book companies and other quilty companies have a chance to show quilt shop owners what’s new and what will be coming available for the next 6 months (in the case of fabrics).

Mango Tango made from new Island Batik fabrics

Mango Tango made from new Island Batik fabrics

It’s a huge – really enormous – display, and also features various quilt shows including the Hoffman Challenge quilts, dolls and garments.  Shop owners can research and plan for all of the fun things you’ll see in their shops, trying to find the next new trend, cool gadget, or best-selling book or pattern.  They can also get ideas for displays, new classes, and just how to bring the best, most interesting products to you, their customers. 

Over the years, I have been to almost 20 Markets, as an author doing book signings, as buyer when I was manager of In The Beginning, as a fabric salesman also for In The Beginning, and doing schoolhouses, which are mini classes for the shop owners on a variety of subjects.  I most often talk about the wonder of batiks and how to use my patterns and books to promote batiks in their shops. 

Batik Gems book by Laurie Shifrin

Batik Gems by Laurie Shifrin

Some day, I may also have a booth to sell my patterns, but it is no small expense, and I just haven’t taken that leap.  But this year, as most years, I will have a number of quilts on display.  I often work with the various batik and cotton manufacturers to make quilts using their newest fabrics and my designs.  You could often find my quilts on display with Princess Mirah/Bali Fab, Island Batik, Hoffman California Fabrics, and In The Beginning.

This year, I’m pleased to have a Mango Tango quilt using new batiks at Island Batik’s booth (shown above).  Also in their booth will be the Ten Pack quilt which I recently taught on a Caribbean cruise (more on that later). 

September Tango

 With In The Beginning, I’ll have my Mango Tango quilt and Making Waves placemats and tablerunner using Lida Enche’s September Light line – which I’ve raved about in earlier posts and sell kits for.Making Waves with September Light fabrics

 And my Ripples and Reflections quilt will be showing after Market for Festival, which is a retail show the week after Market in the same convention center. 

Ripples and Reflections quilt by Laurie Shifrin

Ripples and Reflections quilt by Laurie Shifrin

You can get up close and personal with my quilt in the Fabric Fanatics booth.   So if any of you are in the Houston area November 3-6, be sure to stop by the George R. Brown Convention Center for an overwhelming but incredible chance to shop shop shop!

About laurieshifrin

I am a quilt designer, author, quilting teacher and lecturer.
This entry was posted in Laurie's Quilt Designs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

