Great Quilt Shop, Yummy Deli and Red Hat Ladies

About twice a year I travel back to the northeast to teach and lecture.  As a bonus, I get to visit my sisters and their families.  In early April of this year, I spent 2 ½ weeks back east in NY, CT and MA, and managed to encounter only one snowstorm (yes – in April) and didn’t hit a deer (as I did a year ago while in PA) –  I consider that a good trip!  

On my free days, when my relatives are unavailable (in school or at work), I enjoy visiting quilt shops in the area, even if it means many hours of driving (who doesn’t?).  On this one particular day, I was heading to Vernon, CT to see the gals at Quilting by the Yard .  I’ve taught there in the past, and remember them having a wonderful batik selection – which is my main criterion for warranting a visit.  

Rein's Deli in Vernon, CT
Best Corned Beef and Pastrami Ever!

Another bonus of going there is that one of the most well-known N.Y. -style delicatessens in CT is in the same strip mall.  Rein’s Deli  has the best corned beef sandwiches, and pastrami like I remember from my youth.  I can’t get that at home in Seattle, and try to make a special trip if I’m in the area.  My mouth is watering just thinking about the half-sour garlicky pickles – Mmmmm. 

Red Hat Ladies at Rein's Deli

Red Hat Ladies at Rein's Deli

       Anyway….the funniest thing happened when I walked into the deli – there was a group of 12 lovely Red Hat Ladies meeting for lunch, all decked out in their red and purple finery: hats, purses, shoes, scarves and jewelry.  They asked me take their photo, which turned into me taking multiple photos on multiple  cameras.  So I thought I might as well get one on my own camera! 

Lisa's Clover Hill Quilts

Batiks at Lisa's Clover Hill Quilts

 When I think back on that afternoon, of course I remember the pastrami sandwich I devoured in my car while driving to the next quilt shop – Lisa’s Clover Hill Quilts in Berlin, CT (yes, those are all batiks).  I also remember the camaraderie and love for life those women shared.

About laurieshifrin

I am a quilt designer, author, quilting teacher and lecturer.
This entry was posted in Laurie's Quilt Designs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Quilt Shop, Yummy Deli and Red Hat Ladies

  1. Jackie says:

    Oh, I wish I had known you were back in CT. I would have had you over to my shop. Even though I am online only, I think you would have enjoyed visiting. I did take a class with you when you taught at Close to Home and really enjoyed it! Now I have purchased your new BOM for my shop. Can’t wait to get all of it!

    • Jackie, on my next trip I’ll be sure to get in touch. I’d love to visit and to see how your class quilt turned out! I know I’ll be back east next April for a lengthy trip. Let’s see if we can get together then. And I’m so pleased that you like my new BOM pattern – I hope it does really well for you – now just the long wait for the fabrics to arrive.

      • Jackie says:

        Laurie, That sounds fantastic!! You know how to get in touch with me and I look forward to it. I am super excited about your BOM too! Getting anxious!

Leave a Reply

